Contest Winners Announced! I’m not man bashin’, I’m just sayin’

Hey all – we have 3 winners for the art contest give away!

First Prize goes to Karen

Second Prize goes to LaDonna

Third Prize goes to Betty

I’m withholding last names for privacy reasons.

Thanks to all that entered the contest.  It was a learning experience for me and hopefully my friends and customers came away learning a little about me, my art and the studio and had a good time too.

Some of you may recall I mentioned in a previous post that my camera broke and that has caused me a great deal of anxiety.  I don’t know when I’ll have the funds available to repair or replace the camera, so in the mean time I am using an old camera that is slow, slow and did I say slow.  It doesn’t take the greatest photos in the world either.  But hey, you work with what you have, right?

I’m busy doing a lot of spring clean up, I mean a lot.  We have had quite a bit of fine junk accumulating on our property for a very long time.  I’m a big pack rat and I also enjoy recycling things that I have for my mixed media art creations.  However, some, okay a lot of this stuff was just plain junk and not good for anything.   Also, the previous property owners used the land as their private dumping grounds for many many years.  We have hauled tons upon tons of trash away over the years.  I expect this will go on for some time.  Don’t get me wrong, it doesn’t completely look like we live in the middle of a land fill!  We are very fortunate to have lovely property.

So far, we have had 2 dump trucks loaded full of junk removed from the property.

My motivation is that I have scheduled a studio open house for the public on May 1st.  This year I am also having other artists display and sell their art work.  I’m really excited about this venture.  I have a very special group of women that will be joining me in selling their creations.

I'm all about having wishes come true. My latest wish is to have this stretch of lawn full of artists and crafters and customers that support us!

A few months ago, I was honored to have an article about my artwork, in the local paper, The Daily Progress. Of course I was thrilled to have this opportunity to have the public know a little about my work. I have been selling my art for over 13 years, I’ve had my ups and downs and this economy has truly made that effort a challenge.  For years I have pondered the fact that so many famous artists, or artists that have “made it” are in the spot light time and again.  My thoughts have always been wouldn’t it be nice if an artist such as myself, an unknown, was given some recognition and the chance for the public to know about them.  I was lucky and that happened.

So in keeping with this thought and my strong believe in supporting handmade, and local business I am inviting artists/crafters,  some who have never displayed or sold their work, an opportunity to do just that.  I don’t want to exclude a specific gender, but I must say at this time it looks to be all about WOMEN POWER!   I’m not man bashing and I’ll be the first to say I couldn’t do what I do without the support of my husband.  But it does appear that this is going to be a celebration of women, business owners and artists, and crafters and just a group of incredibly dynamic women.  It is my sincere hope that many of my readers will take the time to support, not only 3 Wishes Studio, but this group of special people.

If you are a local artist, and want to know more about this event or in possible participation, let me know.  Men, you are welcome too.

Cheers to all!

Kim

Leave a Reply

