Once in a blue moon

once in a blue moon

What a weekend.  Did y’all see that big moon?

When I host an open house or have customers come out to the studio and shop, I often hear something along the lines of  not only how much nicer my stuff is in person but how good it feels in my studio and what a fun place I have to work out of.  I agree to both.  A shopper this weekend reminded me of this.  It is a sweet little piece of heaven and even on my most difficult days, I really love my work and the fact that I am able to do what I do.

The question is, how do I take that good feeling people get when they are shopping out here and put that onto a web page?  How do I make my pictures do my work justice?  I guess it is something I just have to keep working on, but I don’t think you can ever really replace an in person experience – you know seeing, touching and smelling.

This weekend, I’ve made the switch to a new web page host. I’ve been working on this for quite some time now.  I’ve been talking about the changes that my business has been going through and this is one of them.  Go check it out. It does have a new look and feel.  However, I should mention that it is still a work in progress and not complete. 3 Wishes Studio.

This weekend, I’ve also launched a new product line which I call Steam Whistles Designs, I have a separate web page and blog for that product line.  This new  work is very different from what I have done previously.  I think it is fair to say that it is a little less whimsical.  To learn more about this line and how I came up with the name, head over to the web page.

I’ve made over my 3 Wishes blog site and for those of you that read my blog through email – I sure hope you will mosey on over to the actual web page and take a look around.  I have links that just may be of interest to you.  Also, my “hive friends” – if you want to link up let me know.

I picked a date for my holiday open house,  It will be the first weekend in December.  I hope that you will be able to join me for a wonderful weekend of shopping and festivities.  I will post times and more details on Facebook.

getting ready for the studio open house fused glass holiday plates and ornaments

Somehow between all this work, work, work I managed to put in a few good hours of personal time too.

We celebrated our friend LaDonna’s fiftieth birthday.  She is an extraordinary person.  This year she said she wanted glazed donuts instead of a cake, how fun is that?  She stacked them up and made a donut cake.  What an easy night to love.  Mark and LaDonna cooked a lovely dinner of steak and chicken and beans and potatoes and we finished the night with a donut cake & champagne by the camp fire.  Putting your donut on a stick and toasting it over an open flame is the way to go!

blowing out the candles

You all know how much I love taking photos, our friend Gary has a really nice camera and not only takes great photos for fun, he also has a photography business on the side.  Thanks to Gary Powell –  the photo above is his, once again he nailed it!

A dark spot on my weekend, is our friend that should have been with us celebrating this weekend, but she is going through something really bad right now.  Wanting to reach out to her and call, but not wanting to put pressure on her to talk, this is so hard.  I wish for all the stars to come together and shower her with love and to take away the sadness in her heart.

The year is coming to an end.  My year of change, my year learning how to open up and express myself a little better.   I was told recently by someone who I am really close to, that they have learned so much about me through my blogs that they never knew or realized.  I think her point was that sometimes when you are close to someone and you think you really know them, that you don’t always see everything about them because you have a preconceived notion.  I think most people change as they age and I think that certainly is true for me.  Maybe we don’t always see the change in people.  Her comments made me realize how much I have, I’d like to think – grown, this past year.

I thought I would share a little more about myself – just for fun.

My favorite food – the potato.  I’ve never met a potato I didn’t like, which might explain why my butt is the size of  Texas.

Music – now, I know some of you think you already know about my music habits so here is one you may not know – I love Stevie Nicks.  Charles and I played Leather and Lace at our wedding for our first dance as a married couple.

I learned over my margarita tonight that if you don’t know what the phrase “my turn to treat” means – you must be much younger than me.

Until next time,

Cheers!

Kim

3 Wishes Studio

Steam Whistles Designs

One thought on “Once in a blue moon

Leave a Reply

