Cats know – chill the dough

Today will be sugar cookie baking day.

my handsome henry

Snow has started to fall and even though the ground is just starting to get white, some of my younger cats  in anticipation of the cabin fever that will set in before long, have started pacing and doing the in and out routine.  If you have cats, you know what I mean.  Whichever side of the door they are presently on, the other side is where they want to be.  It is a cat rule.  The older cats have hunkered down into their favorite nesting spots.  They all know, that today Momma will stay in the house with them, rather than spending the day in the studio.

The rolling-pin and cookie cutters have been pulled out and the cats have this way of knowing, just like when the suit cases are pulled out – they know we are going away, the cookie cutters and rolling-pin signal day inside.  Cats, know.

cookie cutters and rolling-pin are ready and Mr. Bonez supervises in the background

These cookies are a tradition in my house.  I’ve tried many recipes over the years, but finally in 1993 – Charles (a cookie monster for sure) declared that there simply wasn’t a better recipe out there, so I made a note by the recipe that it was the “one” – and I have to agree, so I just stopped trying new recipes and stuck to what I know is good.

from the St. Peter's cookbook in Molltown, PA. This is the church of my father's family. My cousin Leanne, illustrated the book.

I made my cookie dough last night, and then placed it in the refrigerator, this dough is best to work with when it is good and cool.

I just couldn’t fit much baking into the schedule this year, which is better for my waistline anyway.

cookies cooling on the rack

I don’t often follow recipes, however I did in this case for many years.  Recently though, I have started adding extra vanilla because we really like it.  In addition to what the recipe calls for I add about another 1/2 tsp of vanilla, plus I add the seeds from one whole vanilla bean.

recipe for Christmas cookies

For many years now, I have only decorated my cookies with sugar, no icing.  However my sister Holly made these adorable shark cookies for my spring open house.  I fell so in love with them, that I have decided to decorate some of my Christmas cookies with icing this year too.  I haven’t done that yet, hoping to work it in this weekend.

Holly's little blue shark cookies

Until next time,

Cheers!

Kim

PS If you decide to give this recipe a try – let me know what you think.

PSS  – since I’ve had several people ask for the recipe for the icing here is a post script –

I no longer recall what recipe I used in the past and I asked Holly for hers, she doesn’t remember either.  This is the one I looked up on-line and plan to use.

This came from Allrecipesdotcom:

Sugar Cookie Icing

1 Cup confectioners’ sugar

2 teaspoons milk

2 teaspoons light corn syrup

1/4 teaspoon almond extract

assorted food coloring

In a small bowl, stir together sugar and milk until smooth.  Beat in corn syrup and almond extract until icing is smooth and glossy.  IF icing is too thick, add more corn syrup.

Divide into separate bowls, and add food coloring to each to desired intensity.  paint with brush.

My thoughts are to either skip the almond extract, since I have so much vanilla in the cookies or to add vanilla in place of the almond.

Enjoy!

3 Wishes Studio

Steam Whistles Designs

5 thoughts on “Cats know – chill the dough

  1. Stay very far away from the St Peters’ Oatmeal cookies. They are molasses turds. Made that mistake last week and the chickens were the only ones eating.

Leave a Reply

