a day celebrating the joy of creative expression

After a two-week rain delay, and losing the participation of several artists and crafters in that time frame, a couple of bumps in the road including my temper tantrums, meltdowns and blow ups, oh and the countless hot flashes – we pulled off a great studio open house.   When I say, we I mean Charles and I, because without his participation and support from day one, this would not have been possible.  I also include the other exhibitors, the musicians, and all the patrons.

Gratitude – Giving thanks, I also had support from so many friends and all of my immediate family –  I know that I am one lucky lady.  Thank you just doesn’t seem to be enough.

And, YOU – all the people who I didn’t know until Saturday – so many thanks to give, I think that this is just the beginning of something great.  On behalf of myself and the other exhibitors, your support made a difference – we could not have done it without you.

Understanding that creative expression – whether it is from a high-end artist known the world over or from a little kid holding a crayon for the first time, the common bond that unites us is that we all long to express ourselves, to be heard and to be understood through our efforts, to share with others and to be appreciated.

My dear friend Karen called the night before the open house and said something along the lines about just being a at home crafter and feeling ridiculous about putting her stuff out there.   Oh how I know – this little crafter hanging out in the little purple building in the back yard and calling it a studio has all those feelings and many more each every time I put myself and my work out for the public to see.  I feel pretty certain that if you asked one of those accomplished been around the block a long time artists – they would say they have similar feelings too.  I think it is just called being human and having humility.

Questions – Could I do this again?  Will I do this again?  Why would I do this again?  They all remain to be answered.

My Wish – the one I put out there asking for you to respond to – to help me support Marianne’s Room at MJH and the Fork Union Animal Clinic Emergency Treatment Fund – came true, because you listened and you responded.  I will be proud to be able to present checks to each of these causes from 3 Wishes Studio, on your behalf.  You should be proud of your efforts – thank you for doing this with me.

All the stories that were shared with me and LaDonna too, about your personal struggles and battles with Cancer – I think I can safely say for both of us – we heard you and felt with our hearts what you were saying and know that we share your prayers.

Many of us got to enjoy the visiting puppies, which are available for adoption at the Love For Animals Sanctuary in Louisa and if you might be interested please let me know and I will put you in contact with the right people.  I have to say, I’ve known many a Beagle puppy before, but none as sweet as these two girls.  Speaking of animals, thank you all for your pet stories and supporting the emergency treatment fund.  I get a little tickle in my tummy knowing so many cat and dog faces are shinning in sunny windows throughout the area, and that the proceeds from those sales will help out another dear pet.

I would be remiss if I didn’t tell you that Betsy says thank you too, she really enjoyed all the attention that she received – it was a big day for her too.

Hear This – the sound of my splashing waterfalls, bubbling bathtub fountain and the gushing of the little pond in the woodlands, the chirping of the birds and the tinkling wind chimes – all replaced by the sound of another music.  The wonderful, spirited music from The Grass and Eclectic Co. – how will I ever be able to fully say thank you to Sam, Bob and this wonderful group? It is undeniable that their music added an extra lift to our day.

Friends – I’m lucky to have them they came from near and far. I especially thank two who came to my aid Saturday, and did any and everything without having to be told, they deserve an extra I couldn’t have done it without you – the ladies behind the cash register – LaDonna and Jeri Lynn – rang up the sales, and so beautifully wrapped all the purchases, not to mention helped hang pictures for Justine, who could not arrive until after working her real job all day.  They helped Charles through his kitchen crisis (oh and Justine, sorry you had to see that too!)  and many other moments.

Joyful –  That is how I describe my work.  I choose that word to use for the name of the open house too, and truly that is the word that describes how I feel after it is all said and done.

Pictures – to those who had my camera and took a few for me, thank you.  If you have some from your visit here I would love for you to share them with me.  Now, I will let the photos do the talking.

Until Next Time,

Cheers!

Kim

3 Wishes Studio

Steam Whistles Designs

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “a day celebrating the joy of creative expression

  1. I second that, Kim. It was a lovely day in every respect. Each artist was happy to talk about her work, but in a low-key, no pressure way. The “vibe” (does anyone use that phrase anymore?) was pitch perfect. Everyone seemed glad to be right where they were doing exactly what they were doing whether shopping, visiting with friends, listening to/playing music or walking around to admire the beautiful oasis you call home. And to top it off you ordered ideal weather! Nice job all around. Thanks for all you, Charles and everyone else did to make this happen.

Leave a Reply

