i went kooky nutz

I mean completely over the top.

Humming birds have come to the flowers in our garden before, however, I never put feeders out to attract them though I have always found them charming.  Then the other day, I was out playing with my new fancy pants camera – when a humming-bird flew over to the lavender and I quickly snapped a few shots.

That was it, I was hooked.  I had to have feeders so that I could feed my photo addiction and get better photos. One obsession just led to another.

This brought back to my mind something I saw on TV a few years ago.  I think it was on a travel channel about one of the Caribbean islands, where this local man had trained the humming birds to feed from his hand.  I thought that was so cool, and filed that into the some day I’m going to try that category.

Inspired by my desire to take more photos, I decided it was time to work on that idea, so I ran up to our hardware store and purchased several feeders.

No, I am not about to pay for that food they sell in the store, I found a recipe on-line to make my own.  Very easy – 1/4 cup sugar to one cup of water.  Let the sugar dissolve, shake well and place in a clean feeder.  Some recipes said to boil the mixture, some said you didn’t have to. Refrigerate any unused mixture for up to 7 days.  Do not add food coloring or other sweeteners.

I hung the feeders throughout the garden and yard.  I read that if you provide the right flowers and food that if they are in your area, they will arrive within five minutes.  Since I had seen them previously, I knew they were around.

So I waited.

And waited.

And waited some more.

Patience isn’t one of my strong points.

Nothing.

Then the next morning while I was out drinking my morning coffee, ah a humming bird at the feeder, at last.  I quickly grabbed the camera.

If you give an idiot one of those fancy pants cameras – they are still an idiot.  I took all kinds of photos – only to realize later that the memory card wasn’t in. Sheese!  That plum put me over the edge.

I’m heading back out to the garden with my camera.  The memory card is in it.

Until next time,

Cheers!

Kim

2 thoughts on “i went kooky nutz

  1. They areally are quite easy to get tamed if you give them the regular feeding. Be sure to change the feed every few days though because the sugar causes fungi and bacteria to grow which can kill them. Also – ANTS.

Leave a Reply

