thunderbird frog jam part 2

Previously I wrote about the adventures Charles and I had playing tourist in our nearby local town of Charlottesville, VA at historic Michie Tavern.  We just finished eating an incredible home-made meal of fried chicken, coleslaw, pickled beets, biscuits, cornbread oh and lets not forget the two helpings of mashed potatoes with gravy I had – every bit of it was yum!  We skipped dessert, because we were on a mission to purchase fresh peaches to make our own homemade ice cream and this is where the adventure picks up as we journey over to Carter Mountain Orchard.

Disappointing that our peach tree did not have the first peach on it this year – Charles came up with the idea to go to our local orchard and get peaches.

Some months ago I saw one of my favorite TV cooks making homemade ice cream, at which time I thought I need one of those ice cream makers.  Fast, easy, no churning for hours on end or special salts needed, blah, blah, blah. Put your ingredients in the machine and presto in less than a half an hour you have your own ice cream.  I went on-line did some research thought about making a purchase, but just wasn’t ready to put out the cash.

As luck would have it, I was in one of those big box stores the other day and there was a Cuisinart 2 Qt. ice cream maker – a big sign said I could have ice cream made in as little as 25 minutes.  I totally bought into this hook line and sinker.  I opened the box right then and there, pulled out the booklet with recipes, saw what ingredients I needed to purchase, put everything in the basket and off I went.  I was going to go right home and make ice cream and have it ready and waiting when Charles got home.

Burst bubble.  Charles says if it seems too good to be true – it must be.

Yes, I could have ice cream in as little as, 25 minutes, after first freezing the mixing bowl – which takes between 6-24 hours.  Amazing what you learn when you read the directions.

The bowl was put in the freezer for the night.

Heading up the mountain to the orchard, Charles regaled me with stories about working on the winding, narrow and steep dirt road and near mishaps with large and expensive road working equipment.  Most of the road has in the years since then been paved and made wider.

We met Tyler a handsome fella, and his people were doing a marvelous job keeping him cool with water baths from their drinking bottle, which he seemed to really love.

Mountain views in every direction – too bad it was so hazy the day we were there.

Apple and peach orchards as well as grape, roll along the hill-side in every direction.

In addition to various fruit that you may pick yourself, or get already bagged up and ready to go, there is a bakery, a gift shop and there is a tasting room, Carter Mountain has partnered with Prince Michel vineyards.  They have a lovely area where you can sit with a bottle of wine enjoy the view and listen to live music for entertainment.

During out visit, this charming family was performing.  The little girl was too, too cute.

many types of products made with the fruit are available for purchase.

Frog jam – have you ever?

q-sauce

a little art to purchase as well

I was going to go down to that silly wooden apple and pose for a picture, instead Charles managed to catch me looking ridiculous and I wasn’t even standing behind a wood apple with a worm to frame my face.

Ah yes, another glamorous moment caught on film!

Speaking of fruit

The peaches, the reason that we were there.

We wrapped up our adventure with a 1/2 peck of peaches and headed back home.

My grandmother taught me when I was very young, how to get the skins off of peaches – plop them into boiling water just for a few seconds – just as you would when skinning a tomato – plunge into an ice bath to stop the cooking process, and voila – you have a peach that is easy to peel!

The peaches are left to macerate for 2 hours

Then the rest of the process, blah, blah, blah and a few hours later

the old fashioned dessert dishes are pulled out

Charles garnishes the ice cream with fresh raspberries and a shot of espresso to wash it down.

Until next time,

Cheers!

Kim

If you would like to make your own ice cream here is the recipe that I used. Peach Ice Cream.

2 thoughts on “thunderbird frog jam part 2

  1. I did not read the recipe yet, but have some macerated peaches in the freezer just waiting for me to get back home. ja!

Leave a Reply

