snakes in boxes and margaritas on the rocks

So, what did y’all do over the weekend?

For two days last week, I was looking for my box of Halloween decorations which opened a big ole can of worms.

Back in the days when I had a real job earning real money, I would day-dream about opening my business selling antiques and collectibles.  In 1997 I was on top of the world the day I quit my job to follow my dream.

It took less than a year for me to realize I hated certain aspects of that business so much, that I closed shop and never looked back.

However I’ve been in the shadow of that business for the past fourteen years – every building on our property and nook and cranny in my home is full to the rafters with inventory that I boxed up and brought home.  Over the years, I’ve sold, given away or donated a ton of stuff, and yet I still have more than any one person should have.

I’ve decided it is time for one giant yard sale.

bark cloth curtains

I picked a miserably cold and damp weekend, for us to get to work.  Charles set up the tents, put out the tables and assisted me lugging the bigger pieces into place.

The rest of the work is up to me.  I need to decide what I will keep and what will go.  Each box I opened was like a little time capsule.  I could remember almost each and every object, even though it has been many years since I’ve seen them.  Problem is that I bought so much stuff that was of interest to me, that I developed a personal attachment to it.  Thus making it very difficult to part with, even all these years later.

Charles periodically came around and asked how it was going and how much was I keeping.  I’m sure he is concerned I’ll either keep too much of it, and or ask too high a price for things.  Good chance he is correct.

Things came to a screeching halt when I pulled down from a top shelf a box and stuck my hand inside and found a rather large SNAKE curled up inside.  At first I thought it was one of my old plastic snakes I used to keep as props, half a second later I realized it was real and I shot out of that building in seconds flat.

Charles relocated the snake to the woods and I went back to work, but from then on I made sure I looked inside the box before I stuck my hand down inside.  ICK!  Charles asked what I was going to ask for that box of contents, and I told  him everything in that box was double price because the snake took off a few years of my life.

We are going to make a big party out of the day, any excuse to fire up the grill and make a big pitcher of margaritas.  My mother-in-law is bringing a load of stuff down to contribute to the sale and is going to join us for grill time and a margarita or two.

Stop by if you are in the neighborhood – I’ll be wearing my witches hat – cause I did find my box of Halloween decorations.

Until next time,

Cheers!

Kim

5 thoughts on “snakes in boxes and margaritas on the rocks

  1. Hey Kim, I sent your blog to a friend who I think would be interested in the yard sale and art. Hope that’s o.k. I didn’t know the date so hadn’t sent that. If it’s to be more of a friends only affair, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

