student or teacher

Sherry, Vicky and Sara

This past weekend I hosted a beginner glass fusing class here at the studio.  It was a learning experience for all involved.  Sometimes when I am working with the glass I am on auto pilot and do things without really thinking about it.  Teaching this group made me think through the process.  Being able to put my actions into words that they could take and put into motion was  a bit of a challenge for me.

This group of 3 women, all related, taught me a thing or two about my craft and about relationships. I could not have asked for a better group to spend my Saturday with.  They have such a special bond.  It was a pleasure to watch them interact with each other.  They were so supportive of one another and while working independently they worked as a great team.

They put me at ease and let me embrace what I’ve learned over the years so that in the end I was able to comfortably share my knowledge.  I also learned from watching them.

At the beginning of the class I asked each one what they wanted to get out of the day and then I shared with them what I hoped to achieve.   I can comfortably say I got what I wanted and more.  It was a completely positive and rewarding experience.

Until next time,

Cheers!

Kim

Photos from our class

7 thoughts on “student or teacher

  1. I think this procedure will help others who want to make fused glass and art glass. Thanks for giving stepwise pics. it would have been better if some instructions along with pics.

Leave a Reply

