oh honey

We met a local Florida man on previous trips to the sunshine state.  He sells seafood, which his son catches, fruit and honey from a local friend. All from the back of his pick-up truck.

At first I was a little nervous about purchasing from his road-side truck stand.

Is the seafood fresh?

Is it clean?

Is this some fly-by-night character.

Then the do as the locals do, kicked in.  I watched his customers.  They know this man and they buy from him because they trust him.

In September we purchased shrimp from him.

I’ve never had to pull the heads and feet, not something I really wanted to do, but that’s okay with a glass of wine, I got over it.

I also purchased a jar of orange blossom honey.  Absolutely the best honey I have ever had.

I haven’t stopped talking about that honey for the past six months.  I was bound and determined to go back and buy more when we visited in February.

I bought a couple of jars and though it had been six months from our last purchase from him, he remembered me, and treated us like we were loyal customers.  He has a way of making people feel special. – I get the feeling that he just loves his job.

The honey goes in my green tea everyday at 3:00 pm.

Goes in and on my homemade Oatmeal, honey walnut bread.

Stop.

This is the part of the story where I was going to talk about how I’ve been having these fantasies about starting a beehive and harvesting honey.  Mr. Wishes  and I have been talking about this project and it is a someday we are going to do it for sure project.

Then.

Many times when I write a blog, there are a gazillion writes and re-writes and MANY deletes.  I listen to the story that the blog wants to tell.  Sometimes it just seems so wrong and sometimes so right.

Sometimes, fate steps in and takes over and all the pieces fall in place just as they should.

As I was working on this post, I received an email from my girlfriend sharing This is handmade web site.

I fell so in love with this video, I just had to share. You may have picked up on the fact that I am passionate about photography and I really want to learn how to tell stories with my photos.  This video really speaks to me on that level.  I love the way the story has been told, the coloring of the video, the music.  Once in a while someones story speaks to your soul.  This video really did it for me.  When Megan Paska says it is the first time she felt she was on the right path – that was a real aha moment for me.

Does your art, or line of work speak to your heart in that manner.  If you could do anything you wanted to do.  What would it be?

Thank you friend for sharing this.

Until next time,

Cheers!

Kim

4 thoughts on “oh honey

  1. What a beautiful video and a beautiful dream you have! I hope you can find a way to make your dream come true! A few years back after a bad fire in our area there was a burst of interest in “virgin” honey — the honey made from pollen of the very first blooms of the newly established flowers in the burned area. (And this process can take years following a wildfire) I never tried any, but it is supposed to have the very lighest, sweetest character. Thanks for encouraging me to consider what I would do if I could do anything I wanted!

  2. Kim, I was just going to say 🙂
    But then wanted to add that this fellow selling seafood reminds me of Ed Anderson who owns Anderson Seafood at Barracks Road–he started out selling seafood out of his car about 25 years ago. Mercy, it’s scary to talk about time in “chunks” like that–must be getting old.

Leave a Reply

