baaarooooo

meet Stormy Weather – a lemon drop Basset Hound

Stormy Weather” is a 1933 song written by Harold Arlen and Ted KoehlerEthel Waters first sang it at The Cotton Club night club in Harlem in 1933.  With lyrics, “Don’t know why there’s no sun up in the sky” and  “stormy weather since my man and I ain’t together, keeps raining all the time.”

Friday evening and wind is whipping all around the house, rain coming down in buckets.  Loud thunder shaking the windows and lightning making my skin crawl.  All the cats and Mr. Wishes and I are hunkered down safe in the house.  Betsy beagle has retreated to the her favorite hiding spot, the crawl-space under the porch.

Mr. Wishes says – “someone is banging on the front door.”  Upon his investigation, not someone but something – there at the front door is a soaking wet scared to-death-you-got-to-let-me-in-the-house-dog.

To make a long story short, she has been with us all weekend.  She needed to be called something other than hey dog, so I named her Stormy Weather.

I posted info on Craigslist and our local SPCA, receiving immediate responses from both postings, with people trying to help locate her owners.  We also posted signs at all our nearby intersections.

Betsy and Stormy

We do not need or want any other animals.  I am trying desperately to simplify my life.  However, if I wanted another dog, I wanted it to be a female.  I wanted it to be a laid back easy-going, no high maintenance dog.  I wanted her to be small enough to fit in the car and go on vacation with me.

Our animals including Betsy Beagle do not take kindly to new animals.

We do not want all the drama that introducing another animal into the home brings.

In the garden – such very sad eyes

Mr. Wishes and I are a team, we make decisions together.  We respect each other and make choices that we feel are best for us as a couple.  That’s the way we are.

So today, when I was contacted by the owner of Stormy, I went over the line of respect and spoke without consulting, Mr. Wishes by saying that we would love to keep her.

After talking with the owner  I offered to have Stormy (her name is Ruby and she is about 9 years old) live the last years of her life with us.

Stormy has settled in with our furry family so well.  She has stolen a spot in my heart.

I’ve talked with Mr. Wishes and told him what I have done.  We are waiting to hear back from the other people.

I’ll keep you posted on the fate of Stormy.

Until next time,

Cheers!

Kim

13 thoughts on “baaarooooo

  1. She looks so sweet! And it sounds like your pets love her. If she came to my door in a storm and no one wants her back, I would feel the same as you. You will have lots of company and love.

  2. So, you lost me here. The owner contacted you — how did you end up saying you would like to keep her? And, why is there not an end to the story yet? I’m confused. Have to admit though that Miss Stormy Rue is beautiful in a basset hound kind of way! LOL

    • To clarify I told the owner I would keep the dog without checking with Mr. Wishes. So, I needed to confirm with him that it is okay for us to have her, and the owner was thinking it over. The saga continues…

  3. i do think it makes for a good story when our animals find us! i love the name you’ve given her… and hoping all is unfolding well. she looks like such a sweetie pie. (doesn’t look like too much drama, either!)

  4. Pingback: what became of the dog | snippets from 3 Wishes

  5. Pingback: a stormy spell | snippets from 3 Wishes

Leave a Reply

