spirited walk

Maplewood Cemetery  was the scene as the Albemarle Charlottesville Historical Society  coaxed a few spirits from the past to join present day.

We were immediately greeted by a ghostly arrow pointing us in the right direction.

Up the hill past the old cemetery wall, is that to keep the spirits in or us out?

A sign that we are at the right place

lanterns are gathered to help light our way

All this light – surely we have nothing to fear – right?

It isn’t long though, before we spot a few spirits talking to one another.  At first we think they are one of us, until further inspection revels that their clothing is of another era.  Wait is that Sacagawea on the right?

Then I spy another spirit waiting by his tombstone

as dusk falls the spirits begin to pace

I spy a dapper young couple dressed for an evening out.

I manage a quick shot of him as he glides by.

She walks past me as though I am not even there.

Then out of the dark three young spirits appear out of no where.  Suddenly my camera fails.  Could it be the result of another presence taking over?

Boo!

Until next time,

Cheers!

Kim

11 thoughts on “spirited walk

  1. Oh my…do I love this post or what! Your magic touch with the camera always makes me smile from ear to ear! So very glad you’re a blogger 🙂

  2. I’ve lived here for the better part of 43 years and learned more that evening about our area than I have in that 43 years! HAPPY HALLOWEENIE!

  3. That looks like a great event, I love your photos too! I have been enjoying reading your old posts too.I agree with you wishes and dreams can come true!
    Sarah x

Leave a Reply

